Success for Spartans

- Advertisement -

There were gold medals for Zane Duquemin in the U17 shot putt and for Felicity Johnson-Deeley in the U15 1500m.

Shadine Duquemin won a silver medal in the U15 shot and there were bronze medals for Marc Alner, U15 high jump, and Gemma Dawkins, U20 400m.

MOTORSPORT – Archirondel trial:

Winners from the Jersey Classic and Modern Trials Club motorcycle trial held yesterday at Archirondel were – Junior Small Wheel: Robert Pallot; Junior B: Amelia Jeanne; Junior A: Oliver Laurens; C Route: Scott Le Breton; Twin Shock: Dave Le Cornu; Pre 65: John Noel; Twin Shock Premier: Vince Lees Baker; Pre 65 Premier: Graham du Feu; B Route: Oliver du Feu; A Route: Adam Le Cheminant.

Sportshall test – JSAC girls finished third in the under-11 Sportshall Regional Championships in Portsmouth yesterday.

The boys, who had a number of athletes a year young and a couple two years young, gave a fine account of themselves despite finishing bottom of the seven counties competing.

Cross country league – Winners from the fifth race of the JSAC junior cross country league held at Beauport on Saturday were – girls 7-8 years: Emily Renouf; 9-10: Lauren Lowe; 11-12: Danielle Leerson.

Boys – 7-8: Marlon Fossey; 9-10: Charles Renouf; 11-12: Oliver Terry; 13-14: Sam Ward.

SAILING – Magical win: Abracadabra (Rhys Perkins) won the IRC Class I at the RCIYC Freeport Marine Frostbite Series on Saturday with Jackana (David Jones) in second.

Other results – IRC Class II: 1, Less Expense (Steve Pearl); 2, 2Farr (Jeff Speller); 3, Micmac (Team Micmac).

RCH Class III: Lisia (Mark Tucker).

DUATHLON – Pedal Power Series: Marc Nicol and Sarah Corcoran were the winners at the first race of the Jersey Triathlon Club’s Pedal Power Duathlon Series held at La Pulente yesterday.

Nicol won the men’s race with Damian Maher second and Andrew Murfin third.

Corcoran won the ladies’ race with Jenny O’Brien second and Sam Horsfall tying with Liz Murfin for third.

VOLLEYBALL – Record run ended: Walkers’ two year record of winning without losing a set came to an abrupt end yesterday when they lost 3-2 (20-25, 25-23, 25-20, 25-27, 15-7) to McSteam in the Insurance Corporation Mixed League.

Usual Suspects Too beat Peter Green Builders 3-0 (25-16, 25-13, 26-24).

Pentagon Red Hot Tomatoes asserted their place at the top of the Men’s League by beating their closest rivals, Astros, 3-1 (25-12, 21-25, 27-25, 26-24).

Insurance Corporation JVA beat Walkers Sandkickers 3-1 (25-11, 25-15, 25-19).

HOCKEY – RWB unstoppable? RWB continue to dominate the JHA Investec Women’s Division I beating Jersey Ladies 1sts 6-3 yesterday to remain ten points clear of Quackers Ladies 1sts who beat Nomads 1sts 4-2.

Other results – Men’s Division I: JHC Leopards 5; V College I 1.

IFG Hautlieu 2; OV Convicts 2.

Division II: V College Colts 5; IFG Hunters 0.

JHC Lions 1; OV Vets 1.

Crusaders 1sts 4; OV Victims 1.

Development Division: Eagles Juniors 4; Quackers E&Y Dabblers 3.

CYCLING – Ovenden elite: Robin Ovenden won the Elite class of The Cycle Centre CCC Mountain Bike Winter Series yesterday.

Other winners – Sport: Eric Le Brun; Veteran: Michael Boarer; Super-Vets: Chaz Knight; Ladies: ‘Jim’ Davis’; Schoolboys: George Milner.

GOLF – Wheatlands action: Peter Horsfall, 20 hcp, won the Wheatlands GC Cobweb Trophy on Saturday with 37 points.

Doug Gibaut, 22 hcp, was second on 36 pts and Steve Hind, 28 hcp, third with 35.

Linda Spence, 17 hcp, won the Wheatlands Resolution Chalice with 38 pts.

Carol Allen, 21 hcp, was second on 36 pts and Pat Creighton, 15 hcp, third on 34.

Beeley’s monthly win: Craig Beeley, 6 hcp, won the Demi Golf Society January Monthly Medal on Saturday with a net 64.

Jorge Moniz, 6 hcp was second on 67 and Ian Beeley, 11 hcp, third on 70.

Coronation Cup: Richard Rothwell and Kenny Marshall won the St Clement Golf Club Coronation Cup with a combined Stableford score of 70 pts.

Sean Kavanagh and Peter Vanderniet were runners-up with 66.

Taylor on top: Richard Taylor, 12 hcp, won Les Mielles Golf Club’s Division I January Medal with a net 64.

Herbie Jennett, 10 hcp, was second on 66 and Ashley Reddyhoff, 9 hcp, third on 66.

In Division II Richard Cornick, 17 hcp, won with a net 69.

Paul Mottram, 26 hcp, was second on 70 and Loftur Loftsson third on 71.

SHOOTING – De la Haye top gun: Jon de la Haye was High Gun and winner of Class AAA in yesterday’s Lecq Clay Target Club 50 Bird Sporting with 44 ex 50.

Other results – Class AA: 1, Mark Andrews 41; 2, Ashley Le Sech 39.

Class A: 1=, Richard Le Brun and Dave Le Rendu 42; 3, Ernie Le Brun 40.

Class B: 1, Graham Le Cornu 42; 2= Clive Green and Andy Stead 41.

Class C: 1, Mick Brown 35; 2, Robert Cunliffe 33; 3, Greg Graham 31.

Ladies: 1, Kay Cragg 32; Juniors: 1, Sam Payn 35; 2, John Payn 27.

Leonard on target: Sean Leonard won the Crabb? Clay Pigeon Club 50 Bird Sporting with 47 ex 50.

Other results – A Class: William Coom 41; B Class: Howard Durell 42; C Class: Fernando Carvalho 34; Veteran: John Bedford 38.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories

- Advertisement -

UK News

Read the latest free supplements

Read the Town Crier, Le Rocher and a whole host of other subjects like mortgage advice, business, cycling, travel and property.