Jackana take Frostbite honours

- Advertisement -

DAVID Jones’ Jackana dominated the first RCIYC Pallot Windows Frostbite Series race of the season, taking line honours and the race title over three minutes ahead of the fleet.

In tackling two laps of a triangular course in St Aubin’s Bay Jackana was first to the windward mark, pursued by Nigel Coxshall’s ILC30, Toybox, Alex Ohlsson and Neil Maclachlan’s J-92S, Jaya, and Rhys Perkins and partners’ Archambault 35, Abracadabra.

Abracadabra squeezed into the lead at the East Rock, with Jackana and Jaya vying for second.

Triangle course. It was Jones’ First 34.7 Jackana, however, who sailed ahead in the second circuit, finishing well ahead of Jaya, and third-placed Abracadabra.

The IRC class two and RCH club handicap boats followed on a windward-leeward, one triangle course.

Equally keen competition was fought between the three keen Farr 747s in class two, and three Starlight 30s in class 3.

Steve Pearl and partners’ X-79, Less Xpense, started strongly, but the Farrs dominated and all three remained in close contact throughout the race. Jeff Speller’s 2Farr held off a strong challenge from Team Micmac’s Farr Micmac, skippered by David Sharp, to take line honours and the race. Julian Barber’s Farr was second on corrected time, with the higher handicapped Micmac settling for third.

Chris Weeks and Chris Petra’s Starlight 30, Cassiopeia, took an early lead in class three, while sister ships, Adrian Taylor’s Starry Night and Charles Norman’s Starbound, had their own tussle for second place.

Line honours Cassiopeia went on, comfortably, to take line honours and the race with Starry Night fighting off Starbound’s challenge to come second.

Picture: Super Q finished second in Class 2

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories

- Advertisement -

UK News

Read the latest free supplements

Read the Town Crier, Le Rocher and a whole host of other subjects like mortgage advice, business, cycling, travel and property.