Premier League managerial exits as Brendan Rodgers becomes the 12th this season

- Advertisement -

Brendan Rodgers has become the 12th managerial departure of this Premier League campaign, extending the record for in-season changes.

Antonio Conte’s exit from Tottenham last week surpassed the previous Premier League record of 10.

Rodgers was sacked by the Foxes on Sunday following their defeat by Crystal Palace the day before.

Here, the PA news agency looks at this season’s departures and how the tally compares to past campaigns.

Timeline of trouble

PA graphic
PA graphic

Scott Parker took Bournemouth to promotion last season but did not even see out their first month back in the Premier League after a 9-0 defeat to Liverpool.


Graham Potter in Chelsea training
Graham Potter left Brighton to take the newly-created Chelsea vacancy (Adam Davy/PA)


Wolves moved on from Bruno Lage early in the month, before Steven Gerrard was dismissed by Aston Villa.


Southampton’s struggles saw Ralph Hasenhuttl sacked and replaced by Nathan Jones.


Everton’s ongoing relegation fears cost Frank Lampard his role at Goodison Park.


Nathan Jones
Nathan Jones lasted only three months at Southampton (Kieran Cleeves/PA)


Crystal Palace sacked Patrick Vieira after a 12-match winless run before Conte‘s increasingly fractious relationship with Spurs came to an end.


Rodgers was dismissed after the Foxes dropped into the bottom three following Saturday’s last-gasp defeat at Crystal Palace, which extended their winless run to six games.

Sacking season

PA graphic
PA graphic

The 2013-14 campaign was the first to hit double figures, with Fulham contributing two to that total as first Martin Jol and then Rene Meulensteen were shown the door. West Brom and Tottenham’s in-season appointments, Pepe Mel and Tim Sherwood respectively, lasted only until the end of the season and Spurs then lured Mauricio Pochettino from Southampton, taking the season’s final total to 13.

There were a record 15 in total in 2017-18, with again 10 coming during the season including two each from Southampton (Claude Puel and Mauricio Pellegrino) and West Brom (Tony Pulis and Alan Pardew). West Ham, Everton, Stoke and Swansea each made a second change when the season concluded, while Arsene Wenger resigned from his long reign at Arsenal.

Last season was the other to see 10 managers jettisoned during the campaign, including Xisco Munoz and Claudio Ranieri being flung off the ever-erratic Watford roundabout. An 11th departure came at the end of the season as Manchester United’s interim boss Ralf Rangnick, appointed in November to succeed Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, left Old Trafford.

There have been three separate instances of nine in-season departures, in 1994-95 – when there were still 22 clubs in the Premier League – 2004-05 and 2008-09.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories

- Advertisement -

UK News

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Read the latest free supplements

Read the Town Crier, Le Rocher and a whole host of other subjects like mortgage advice, business, cycling, travel and property.